4 Es & 6-Step Process

[1] "4 Es" as cornerstones of JAFP certification as a financial planner

Financial planners must meet rigorous requirements in terms of knowledge, skills, and professional ethics. To become certified, applicants are required to meet four certification requirements known as the "4 Es", consist of Education, Examination, Experience, and Ethics.


Completion of a required educational program. To renew and maintain the certification, one is required to meet the continuing education requirement.


Once educational requirements are fulfilled, the ability is assessed to apply the acquired financial planning knowledge in practice.


A CFP® certificant is required to complete the JAFP practical training and meet a minimum of three years of professional practice experience, in addition to successful completion of examinations.


Prior to a certification being issued, one is required to sign an agreement to adhere to the JAFP Ethical Principles and the Rules of Conduct. Professional ethics are critical for financial planners who are required to obtain clients' personal information.

[2] "6-Step Process" as guidelines for financial planning practices

  • 1. 

    Establishing and defining the client-planner relationship

  • 2. 

    Gathering client data and determining goals and expectations

  • 3. 

    Analyzing and evaluating the client’s financial status

  • 4. 

    Developing and presenting financial planning recommendations and/or alternatives

  • 5. 

    Implementing the recommendations

  • 6. 

    Monitoring the plan